

तच्या यो नर्या तस्य स्वरहें यथा

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



Dated: February 20, 2024

(Eusuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/CEC-NOTIF/2023-2024/278

Press Release

Declaration of the results of Bye-Elections in Local Government, 2024

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB), as per the provision enshrined under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, hereby declares the Results of the Bye Elections for the posts to the Local Government.

The Elections were conducted in the four Dzongkhags for the positions of *Mangmi*, *Gewog Tshogde Tshogpas and Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa* with the poll day on 19th February 2024.

The names of candidates who have been successfully elected are as follows;

Sl. No	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Paro	Hoongrel		Yuden	Mangmi
2	Lhuentse	Kurtoed	Dungkar	Tashi Jatsho	Tshogpa
3	Samdrup Jongkhar	Samrang	Damsagang Toed	Mon Singh Rai	Tshogpa
4	Chhukha	Phuentshogling Thromde	Pasakha Thromde Tshogde	Ganesh Rai	Tshogpa

The overall voter turnout details are as follows:

1. Hoongrel Gewog, Paro Dzongkhag

Of the **644** registered eligible voters (M=301 & F=343), **194** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 156 & Postal Ballot: 38) achieving an overall voter turnout of **30.1%**.

2. Dungkar Chiwog under Kurtoed Gewog, Lhuentse Dzongkhag

Of the **517** registered eligible voters (M= 261 & F= 256), **178** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 57 & Postal Ballot: 121) achieving an overall voter turnout of **34.4%**.

3. Damsagang Toed Chiwog under Samrang Gewog, Samdrup Jongkhar Dzongkhag

Of the **15** registered eligible voters (M=10 F=05) **6** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 5 & Postal Ballot: 1) achieving an overall voter turnout of **40%**.

Post Box No.: 2008, *Democracy House*, Kawajangsa, Thimphu: Bhutan 334851, 334852 (PABX), 334762 (PS to CEC), Fax: 334763

Website: www.ecb.bt E-mail: cec@ecb.bt

4. Pasakha Thromde Tshogde Chiwog under Phuentshogling Thromde, Chhukha Dzongkhag

Of the **153** registered eligible voters (M=77 & F=76), **64** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 55 & Postal Ballot: 9) achieving an overall voter turnout of **41.8%**.

Details of the results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of the 3rd Local Government.

The public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 working days for this Bye-Elections starts from today and would end at 5 p.m. of March 07, 2024.

Issued on the 11th Day of the 1st Month of the Wood Male Dragon Year, corresponding to February 20, 2024.

Chief Election Commissioner