

ॡड़ॣग़ॱग़ऀॱॸड़॔ग़ॱॡड़ॖॱख़ॢढ़ॱक़ॕऀग़ॺ।

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN

(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)



Ensuing Fes. Fair and Demorratic Brickings and References Process of References Process

Dated: April 30, 2024

Press Release

Declaration of the Results of Bye-Elections in Local Government, 2024

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB), as per the provision enshrined under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, hereby declares the Results of the Bye Elections for the posts to the Local Government.

The Elections were conducted in the five Dzongkhags for the positions of *Mangmi and Gewog Tshogde Tshogpa* with the poll day on 29th April 2024.

The names of candidates	who have been s	successfully elected	are as follows:
The mannes of canalaates	who have been	saccessiany ciccica	are as rono,

Sl. No	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Trashigang	Shongphu		Dendup Dema	Mangmi
2	Zhemgang	Phangkhar		Tashi Dorji	Mangmi
3	Chhukha	Bongo	Choongkha_Chhasilakha	Kado	Tshogpa
4	Pema Gatshel	Yurung	Doongsingma_Thoongkhar	Kalzang Namgay	Tshogpa
5	Thimphu	Soe	Jomphu	Nima Gyeltshen	Tshogpa

The overall voter turnout details are as follows:

1. Shongphu Gewog, Trashigang Dzongkhag

Of the **4412** registered eligible voters (M=2093 & F=2319), **1594** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 858 & Postal Ballot: 736) achieving an overall voter turnout of **36.13%**.

2. Phangkhar Gewog, Zhemgang Dzongkhag

Of the **1829** registered eligible voters (M = 896 & F = 933), **950** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 587 & Postal Ballot: 363) achieving an overall voter turnout of **51.94%**.

- **3.** Choongkha_Chhasilakha Chiwog under Bongo Gewog, Chhukha Dzongkhag Of the 684 registered eligible voters (M= 347 F= 337) 321cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 181 & Postal Ballot: 140) achieving an overall voter turnout of 46.93%.
- 4. Doongsingma_Thoongkhar Chiwog under Yurung Gewog, Pema Gatshel Dzongkhag Of the 482 registered eligible voters (M= 222 & F= 260), 178 cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 83 & Postal Ballot: 95) achieving an overall voter turnout of 36.93%.

5. Jomphu Chiwog under Soe Gewog, Thimphu Dzongkhag

Of the **34** registered eligible voters (M= 19 & F= 15), **15** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 14 & Postal Ballot: 01) achieving an overall voter turnout of **44.12%**.

Details of the results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of the 3rd Local Government.

The public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 days for this Bye-Elections starts from today and would end at 5 p.m. of May 09, 2024.

Issued on the 22nd Day of the 3rd Month of the Wood Male Dragon Year, corresponding to April 30, 2024.

Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan